Cold Earth by Ann Cleeves

Cold Earth by Ann Cleeves is the 7th in her Shetland Island mystery series, which has been made into a TV series of the same name. During the funeral of elderly Magnus Tait, torrential winter rains cause a mudslide that disrupts the entire island. In examining a damaged cottage, inspector Jimmy Perez discovers an unidentified dead woman. He and detective Sandy Wilson must discover who she is and who killed her.

Perez’s personal issues are an important factor in the plot. He is developing a romantic attachment to his boss, Chief Inspector Willow Reeves, while also having responsibility for Cassie, the young daughter of Perez’s dead fiancée Fran.

Cold Earth is a solid police procedural which will appeal to fans of Ann Cleeves. She is also the author of the Vera Stanhope books, which have been made into the hit TV series Vera.  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s